Some Derwent products | My review

26

24

 

Hello there! how are you, since i’m on vacation now i’m mostly drawing and I recently bought a Derwent colors products, and i thought about writing a review about them.
I wanted to get prisma colors but i couldn’t order them so far, they’re not available in my country which is very sad, so i thought Derwent colors may be a good replacement to them, or at least like them, I tried two kinds of colors, Artist color pencil and pastel pencils
I also got the blender, burnisher and a small sketchbook.

2

The sketchbook is A5 size, I liked it because it’s small and easy to carry , and the papers feels good, they’re strong and soft.
I tried drawing on the sketchbook with graphics and it worked, but when it came to water color it wasn’t very good, maybe because it’s not made for water colors, but if you put small amount of water it might work and don’t get very wet page.
The pastel color I didn’t like them too maybe because i don’t use pastels a lot or i don’t really know the technique of it, but the colors were easy to break, especially the black color
but it kept getting broken so i left it.

3
The color pencils
At first I didn’t like them because they weren’t as smooth as Faber Castell color pencils, maybe it depends on the kind of paper you’re drawing on, I used them many time until i managed to use them right, they give fine color, but you can’t blend the colors easily & they’re kinda sharp, they’re not that bad but I think I prefer Faber Castell more
so these are some of the drawings i made using the color pencils:

Zhenya kotava- themaryas2
Zhenya kotava- themaryas
model- Themaryas
In the end ; I didn’t really like derwent colors that much, but they can do something, they don’t give you rich color, even if you kept coloring over and over, If i compared between prisma colors,faber castel and derwent they”ll be the last!
I’m not saying the company is bad or anything and I don’t mean anything by writing those words but from my experience – at least with these two products- I didn’t like them a lot, but the brand is very famous and it has lots of products but those two weren’t the best.

28


see you in another post
xo

Leave a Reply

